YA Eats 1

Hi y’all! Long time no talk. What have I been up to, you may ask?

I ran my Brooklyn Half.

IMG_2971

I started volunteering with Cooking Matters.

cooking-matters-infographics

I have been enjoying the springtime weather.

IMG_2938

IMG_2973

I have been expanding the type of veggie I use to cook with.

IMG_2942

And I have been thinking up bigger and better plans for this blog.. which leads me to this. I am starting a new series called YA Eats (Young Adult Eats, kind of like when you go to the library and ask for the YA novel section where you can find the somewhat raunchy romantic beach reads.) I decided to do this because I know a lot of people in my age category (21-26ish) who struggle to eat nutrition filled meals. There’s a stigma that eating healthy is expensive, too time-consuming, and doesn’t taste good.

So people this age may gravitate towards the frozen meals and the take-out section of the grocery store, the only veggies consumed each day is whatever Chipotle throws into your burrito bowl. And this is by no means a judgment – it’s really hard to take a step back from the way you’ve been eating for many years to carve out a few hours per week to ensure more health into your body.

This idea came to me with my new volunteering job at Cooking Matters. The mission is to help families “shop for and cook healthy meals on a budget, as part of the No Kids Hungry campaign.” The cohort I have been working with includes 12 adults, many with little children, many on SNAP (new name for food stamps.) We talk about what gets in the way of healthy cooking, and the biggest barriers are not a surprise: the price, the time, the taste. Our mission is to teach healthy cooking for more affordable, and give it a great taste that kiddos would love the food just as much as their parents do. So far we have made healthier versions of: fried chicken, macaroni and cheese, stirfry, apple yogurt parfaits, black bean brownies, and vegetable quesadillas with mango salsa.

It’s a super inspiring program, and it feels so great to see these parents incorporating healthier food into their diets, and into their families’ diets.

So that is the long version of what inspired me to create this series. Let’s get to the first YA Eats!

YA Stirfry

IMG_2985

What you need:

  • Brown rice
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • Assortment of veggies: I used a red pepper, button mushrooms, brussels sprouts
  • honey
  • stirfry sauce: I used Organicville sesame terriyaki sauce

 

What you do:

Chop up the vegetables and throw them in a frying pan with some olive oil and honey.

IMG_2982

Let the veggies soften and cook through for several minutes, then toss in the chickpeas and rice.

Stir and let cook together, then add in the sauce.

IMG_2983

Easy as 1, 2, 3!

IMG_2986

How long did this take, forreal? About 15 minutes.

How many meals do I have this lovely stirfry for? It fit into 3 meal-sized tupperwares!

Come back again soon for another YA Eats! Enjoy the Sunshine! XOXO

One thought on “YA Eats 1

Leave a Reply

