Good Eats + Growing Up

Hello lovely folks! I hope you’re all having a great week and soaking up the sunshine. Here in Boston, the weather is starting to get warmer, and we just had the Boston Marathon this past Monday. With that comes along with an incredible amount of hope, inspiration, and heart warmth. I was unfortunately at work this year, but I saw on the internet that lots of people who were physically impacted by the bombing several years ago completed this year’s marathon, which is so incredible to see people re-reaching their dreams, after an incredibly painful experience deterred them to begin with. A few years ago when I was able to go to the marathon, I saw people in their 80s running, young kids with their parents, people with special needs and disabilities. You see it all, and it truly is incredible to see perfect strangers gathering to cheer on other perfect strangers.

Anyways on the food front, I had some pretty fantastic meals recently that I’m excited to show y’all:

IMG_2758

Favorite sandwich from Flour Bakery. Sweet potatoes, kale, apple, blue cheese, walnut pesto.

IMG_2756

Eggplant, mozzerella, basil, tomato wrap from a farm nearby my apartment.

IMG_2763

Challah bread grilled cheese with tomato soup and salad.

IMG_2768

Make your own juice: pear, carrot, apple, pineapple.

IMG_2762

And pretty flowers so good you could eat….. maybe?

For the week, I made a similar salad to last week’s — spinach with dried cranberries, hard boiled egg and roasted broccoli, cauliflower and peppers. For dinners, I have a springy vegetable pasta that I’ll post the recipe for next week. As for this past weekend…

IMG_2759

My parents were in town to hangout!! We went to the Boston Marathon expo, which had lots of inspiring messages, many people trying to sell their running products (shoes, timers, granola bars), and all the wonderful people picking up their bibs to run! Having my parents in town is always something that leaves me feeling grounded, more centered, and more aligned with my values and what’s important to me.

Along that line, I wanted to share what many of the people in my life, including myself, are going through right now. I feel like we all grow up with the overarching goal that one day, you will be incredibly happy, all the time. One day, everything will feel perfect and look perfect without any worries, doubts, fears. That growing up means each day will be filled with excitement and new adventures. We don’t think about the complacency that comes along with doing similar things each day. Or the fact that adults struggle with worries and challenges just as much as younger folk do. For me, I’m feeling like huh? This is it? This is the life that I have been training for since elementary, then middle, high school, college, graduate school, lots of internships, and here I am? This elusive magical place isn’t feeling like all its cracked up to be. I struggle daily. I doubt myself. I doubt my choices. I get down on myself. I feel bored. I want more. But I think I’m starting to realize that that is what life is. It’s not about the rainbow sunshine days, but how we work towards getting there. How we find extraordinary in the ordinary. How we articulate our struggles with those around us, and how they respond with a supportive and loving message. If any of you have been feeling kind of out of it and confused lately, please reach out and know that you’re not alone.

One thought on “Good Eats + Growing Up

Leave a Reply

