Zucchini Balls and 26.2

Hello beautiful people. How is everyone’s week going? Anything new or exciting in your lives? I have been all over with my blog posting lately. I can’t get to the root of what is the bigger issue, however I have been less motivated to do things I really enjoy, such as writing in the bloggy, this past month or so. Quite possibly a different form of the winter blues? I’m trying to live by the words I preach to others, which includes sticking to your important wellness habits when you’re in a funk. I also feel like we live in a society which tells you that as long as you have friends, a job, a place to live, etc., you should be happy all the time and you should not struggle, and if you are struggling you should hide this behind a smiling mask. Completely unrealistic and unfair. Anyways, onto da food.

IMG_2736

Yummy mushroom flatbread at Sip, downtown Boston, with my grad school friends after we all passed our counseling exam!!

IMG_2745 (1)

I absolutely love brussels sprouts (also I finally just learned that it’s brussels sprouts, not brussel sprouts, whoops!) and wanted to use shaved sprouts as the base of my salad this week. It’s kind of cabbagey and so wonderful. I added in dried cranberries and chickpeas, and made a honey mustard dressing by combining honey with dijon mustard.

IMG_2747

Onto these miraculous zucchini balls. Being a vegetarian, sometimes it can be harder to find comfort food to make that I enjoyed regularly as a child, like roasted chicken, hamburgers straight from my dad’s bbq, or spaghetti and meatballs. This recipe brings all the comfort, all the springtime veggie goodness, and an interesting healthy spin on a comfort food we all enjoyed growing up.

What you need:

  • 3 zucchinis
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 tbsp basil flakes
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup Mozzarella cheese
  • few pinches salt and pepper

What you do:

  • Preheat the oven to 425° and grease cooking tray with olive oil.
  • Using a vegetable peeler or a food processor, shred the zucchinis into short ribbons.
  • Mix these in a bowl with the cracked eggs, breadcrumbs, cheese, and spices.
  • Form the mixture into balls. Makes about 10 medium sized balls.
  • Bake for 15 minutes, or until golden brown. Serve over pasta and enjoy!

Now onto an exciting update in my life…..

Philly-marathon

I signed up to run the Philadelphia marathon in November!! My best friend who I am training for the Brooklyn half with convinced me, and I am incredibly fired up and nervous and excited and anxious and all the feels. For those of you who missed my post about my running journey, I always wanted to be a runner because my dad and sister were incredibly into it. I joined cross country and track in high school, which left me feeling disempowered  and embarrassed. I could barely run for 5 minutes, let alone the 5k races each week. I definitely tried to mask my shame by laughing at myself with my teammates. I had a feeling that my running career wouldn’t stop in such a low point, however. I ran several times a week in college, and then in graduate school. After I graduated, I had the desire to up my workout game and I signed up for a half marathon in Rhode Island. The training was an incredible and sentimental experience; I really proved to myself that I was capable of much more than I gave myself credit for. I am now training for the Brooklyn Half, and yesterday had an experience that I never pictured myself going through: I ran 8 miles in the pouring rain and wind throughout Boston. Going from hardly being able to run for 5 minutes, to signing up for a marathon, is something I am really proud of. So within this long winded paragraph, I hope you find the inspiration to try something that you never thought you could do. What did this remind you of in your own life?

I am going to try to go back to 2 posts a week starting next week, I will see you all here very soon. XOXO

One thought on “Zucchini Balls and 26.2

Leave a Reply

