Cheese Class and Cooked Show

Howdy everyone! Readers of mine must have noticed that I took a little week-long break. You can talk all you want about self-care and penciling in time to relax but until you do it, nothing changes. I have been trying to spend more time reading and talking on the phone with my out of state best friends. An important lesson that I am constantly trying to implement is that you cannot be fully there and present with others if you cannot be fully there and present with yourself.

Let’s head into some recent eats. This past weekend my boyfriend and I cooked a nice dinner, which was outrageously wonderful.IMG_2634

Brussel Sprouts Gratin. Brussel sprouts cooked in milk, white cheddar, salt, pepper and olive oil.

IMG_2635

Seafood linguini. Linguini mixed with shrimp, mussels, calamari, mushrooms, spinach, olive oil, butter, and garlic made by Felix the chef.

IMG_2636

And a simple huge chocolate chip peanut butter cookie.

We also had the pleasure of going to a cheese 101 class at Formaggio Kitchen this past weekend. For those of you who know me and my absolute love for cheese, you know this is my heaven. It was a two hour class focused on pairing cheeses with different foods and alcohols. Here’s the menu:IMG_2642

IMG_2643

Followed by the plates:

IMG_2641

I loved the cheese at 9 o’clock, which was a goat cheese that you eat with their airy soft sourdough bread and lemon peel marmalade. I also never thought to put cheese with kettle corn, but the top gouda was out of this world and made for a cool texture combo.

IMG_2644

A little messier because I originally forget to take a picture, whoops. The one with jam on it was soooooo good, it was made from sheep milk and was super creamy, but not in a brie cheese kind of creamy because I hate brie. The top one was mixed with honey which made for a beautiful interesting combination, and the one with chocolate on top was blue cheese which is typically a dessert cheese. The teacher explained the bluer the cheese, the moldier it is. Oh! Good to know.

Then we got to explore the cheese caves, where some cheese goes to sleep and some goes to continue activating the cheese enzymes…

IMG_2645

IMG_2647

Such a fun experience!!

As for food this week, I am making strawberry smoothies for breakfast, pb&j rice cakes for snacks, and these salmon burgers for lunch…

IMG_2648

These are a bit more onion filled than usual; I was exhausted when making them and thus included a whole onion instead of half of one. Oops!! When I make salmon burgers, they typically go like this:

  • 1 can salmon
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • sprinkle of parm cheese
  • handful cut up sundried tomatoes
  • fresh garlic
  • sprinkle crushed red pepper
  • sprinkle basil
  • some oregano
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup olive oil

And then I stove fry them for a few minutes on each side, and mix them with some brussel sprouts and asparagus for the week! As for dinners, my best friend Emily is coming this weekend, and I got Turkish food with my friend Steph last night, so I’m just going to be mixing and matching whatever I already have. AKA lots of mac+cheese with some veggies in there I assume (which is mighty fine with me.)

This past weekend I watched a few episodes of Michael Pollan’s show Cooked, which explores cooking through the four elements: fire, water, air, and earth. He travels to different countries and discovers their cooking habits and what makes their cuisine unique. I highly suggest it for those who are looking to expand their kitchen style, and for those of you who are also aching with wanderlust and creating a list of new countries to travel to (story of my life, why can’t we all be Elizabeth Gilbert and get paid to do a Eurotrip and write a book about it?!) Michael Pollan is a really unique guy too, he brings a lot of fun and engaging personality while also convincing you to eat your veggies. Check it out!

That’s it on my end. Thank you guys for reading, I’ve got lots of love for you! 🙂                        What kind of cheese would you hope for at a cheese class?

One thought on “Cheese Class and Cooked Show

Leave a Reply

