Cheesy Veggie Soup and Cheesy Morning Run Thoughts

Hello beauties! I hope everyone is doing well, feeling calm and relaxed after the weekend. Do you guys know Dana from The Minimalist Baker? If so, well done. If not, I highly suggest you go over to theminimalistbaker.com and check out her simple and beautiful recipes. This week I prepped her spicy red lentil curry. I did not have any coconut sugar, so I used brown sugar as a substitute. I also mixed in green beans, and made brown rice to pair with it.

IMG_2570IMG_2576

And I created a cheesy vegetable soup recipe to have for lunches (even though it’s going to be 70 degrees and soup doesn’t seem necessary!!!)

Cheesy Vegetable Soup

IMG_2574

What you need:

Olive oil

1 medium yellow onion

1 head cauliflower

2 heads broccoli

1 cup cut carrots

3 tbsp honey

2 tbsp dijon mustard

Salt

Pepper

Paprika

2 cups 1% milk

3 cups vegetable broth

8 oz shredded cheddar cheese

IMG_2571

What you do:

Heat a pan with olive oil, and toss in chopped onion until soft. Add cauliflower and mix together until cauliflower is also soft. Add the milk, and mix in a salt and pepper to taste. Put this mixture into the food processor, and grind until smooth. Get out your large saucepan, and cover bottom with olive oil. Add in the broccoli and carrots, and season with salt and pepper. Cook until veggies are soft. Add in the veggie broth and bring to a boil. Then, bring to a low simmer. Add in a few pinches of paprika, the honey, and the dijon. Turn heat off, and mix in the cauliflower puree and the cheese. Enjoy! (Make sure you stir the cauliflower mixture in at the end. I made the mistake of mixing it in way too early and it was a struggle.) Makes 4 servings.

 

And now for the second cheese topic for today. I started training for my second half marathon today, the Brooklyn AirBnB Half, which takes place at the end of May. My last half, which I ran in Rhode Island in September, was a more emotional and cathartic than I could have imagined. I am part of a running family; my dad has run a bunch of marathons, my sister was a track star, and several cousins who are consistently training. I signed up for cross country and track in high school, yet I never met the expectations I set for myself, constantly comparing myself to my family members and peers on the teams. I spent most of my energy thinking about how awful I was at running, and how I would never reach the goals I set for myself; rather than using that energy to actually start running and challenging myself. So while I convinced myself for a while that a 5k was somewhat unobtainable for me, I went through a mental transformation upon completing graduate school and I decided that I was going to complete 13.1 miles. So, I signed up, found a Hal Higdon beginner’s training plan, and got to work. Starting off, the 3 and 4 mile workouts were tough, and I thought about giving up and withdrawing from the event early on. However, I kept pushing through. I had a lot of mental barriers and hurdles that I had to conquer. Running truly was a mental sport for me. And on half day, I did it. I succeeded in something that I never thought possible, and earned my rank in the family running clan.

IMG_1523

And today, starting this training process from ground zero, using a somewhat more advanced training plan, I am so excited to see where this journey brings me. Running is a sport that gives you lots of alone time, internally exploring your hopes and dreams, fears and anxieties. Challenging everything you ever assumed about yourself. Last training, I didn’t think it was possible for me to listen to anything other than fast-paced “party” music while running- I needed something to keep me going. Then, I transitioned to listening to calmer, more zen music, then podcasts, and lastly I was able to get to a place where I could run just me, myself, the noises of nature, and the sound of my feet hitting the pavement. This morning I felt very excited and hopeful for my journey to come, and I allowed myself to feel proud of myself for challenging myself and not giving up.

What can you feel proud of today? XOXO

2 thoughts on “Cheesy Veggie Soup and Cheesy Morning Run Thoughts

Leave a Reply

