Spring has Sprung Smoothie and Saag

Happy Monday beauties! It’s always hard to admit when another weekend comes to a close, but the start of the week means setting new goals for yourself, which can be really exciting. Here’s the meal planning for the week:

Spring has Sprung Smoothie

I have missed smoothies so much. I am already not a fan of winter, and also having smoothies out of my life for so long is really difficult. With the warmer (40 degrees instead of 20) temperatures… I am the president of the smoothie welcome wagon.

What you need:

  • 2 big handfuls spinach
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup blueberries – I use frozen for the consistency
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp chia seed flaxseed mix
  • squirt honey
  • 1.5 cups almond milk

IMG_2514

What you do:

You know what to do. Throw all of the above into the blender, mix it up, and enjoy!

Makes one smoothie.

IMG_2515

Saag Paneer

I used to be terrified of Indian food. The smell is so strong, and I was nervous that it was going to stick to my clothes and people would comment. This fear developed when I was at the gym with my friend in high school, and someone came up to her and asked if she had pork chops for dinner because she smelled delicious. She did have porkchops for dinner. And that created my fear of strangers commenting on my food scent. But anyway, I was convinced to try Indian food by my lovely boyfriend, and I have been obsessed since first bite. This is a really delicious creamed spinach with cheese sort of meal, and I made it with rice to get in all the needed food groups!

What you need:

  • 1 16 oz package frozen spinach
  • 12 ounces paneer (Indian cheese)
  • 1 small white onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 1 inch cube ginger
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • Olive oil
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • ½ tsp cayenne
  • Salt
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • Hint garlic powder
  • Hint Asian spices blend
  • 1 cup uncooked brown rice

IMG_2519

What you do:

Make rice according to package. Mix together the turmeric, cayenne, cumin, and hit of salt with 3 tbsp olive oil. Cut the paneer into cubes and throw the cheese into the mixture, make sure to get the dressing on all pieces. Thaw out the spinach in the microwave – every microwave is different but mine thawed out in 5 minutes. Throw the paneer into a pan on top of the oven and brown on each side for a few minutes, with olive oil as the base. Remove from heat when golden brown. Cut up the ginger, onion, and garlic cloves, and throw into a pan and begin to sauté with the olive oil. Add in some garlic powder and Asian spices blend. Add in the spinach and mix together well. Turn heat off, and slowly add in the yogurt, mixing well. Add in the paneer, and let sit on low heat for several minutes. Put on top of rice or mix in, and dig in!

Makes 4 servings.

What are you guys eating this week? Let me know! XOXO

Leave a Reply

