New Year, Less Fear

“Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one.” ~Brad Paisley

Hi All! As we approach the New Year, we are surrounded by people’s many resolutions and decisions to change themselves in some way. The most popular resolution is of course, to lose weight. Hence why gyms are incredibly crowded for the first two weeks of the year, and then the rush seems to die down. This year, make resolutions that you think you will be able to keep/actually want to keep/are ready to keep. Just because your whole office has a goal to lose ten pounds, doesn’t mean you should want to as well! Stay true to yourself. Take some time before the new year to look inward, journal and write what you genuinely want for yourself for the new year. Remember that these goals can be reevaluated whenever you would like. Be true to yourself. Whether it’s a concrete goal, like run a marathon or start an art class, or a habit change, like less social media or more gratitude, meet yourself where you’re at. What will benefit you and fuel you this year? As human beings, we are constantly growing and evolving, and it is nice to feel in control of these changes. And what if you feel like you honestly have no idea what you want to improve on or accomplish this year? Close your eyes and picture your ideal career, relationships, health state, vacations. Pick one to focus on and make that vision a reality, or close to it.

Last week I went to an aerial yoga class with my sister. This is something that I’ve wanted to try for some time, but was nervous- nervous about not being good, nervous about making a fool of myself. But I went. And I didn’t do much of anything right, and the teacher had to come help me countless times, but I did it; nothing bad happened, no one laughed at me, hardly anyone even noticed what was going on with me because of everyone’s hyper focus on themselves. As Susan Jeffers’, psychologist and author says, “feel the fear and do it anyway.” This is something I am challenging you all to think about for the new year.

IMG_2186

Step out of your comfort zone and try something new, whether it be something that scares you, something that you think you may not be good at, something you’ve never thought would interest you. It’s really powerful to be able to try something new, regardless of the outcome. What were your favorite activities as a young child? Get back to those. I loved painting as a kid, and I recently took a 6 week introduction to water color course at the adult center by me, and I loved it. I did not love the instructor critiquing me on my lack of skill, or the fact that I was supposed to paint one vase for 2 whole hours. But by the end, I learned patience, I learned to look at things from a more artistic viewpoint, and I learned that it doesn’t matter if I’m good at something –  I enjoyed painting, and that was enough for me. I wasn’t even bothered when the instructor went around taking pictures of his favorite artwork made by students, and I didn’t make the cut. Because I tried something new and I had fun doing it, and I painted from my heart and soul.

where-the-magic-happens

So this year, try a new recipe with foreign ingredients. Go to a gym class that looks intimidating. Take a class with all college undergrads. Start reading and writing, for fun. Join the work basketball team even though you’re not as tall as you would like to be. Listen to what your heart is calling for.

How will you step out of your comfort zone this year?

Leave a Reply

